Fake Flowers: Friend or Faux?

There are a ton of things I love about spring—the fashion, the weather and, of course, the gorgeous flowers. Not only are they beautiful, but when nicely arranged, a bouquet of flowers can really brighten even the dullest of rooms.

The only problem? They don’t last long enough! It may be because my green thumb is nearly nonexistent, but it seems like every time I fill a vase with a fresh bouquet of flowers, I only get to enjoy them a few days before they start to droop and wither away.

The Real Flower Company Ivory and Cream English Sweet Peas

The Real Flower Company
Ivory and Cream English Sweet Peas

And while I don’t mind spending a few bucks every week to keep a fresh supply of flowers, I’ve found myself wondering if a faux floral arrangement might be a better bet in the long run. Sure, I love the variety of flowers I can show off and experiment with by getting a new bouquet each week, but a faux arrangement may just save me time, money and headaches over time. And when they’re this gorgeous, how can I resist?

Clockwise from top left: John-Richard Collection Nearly White Faux Floral; ; John-Richard Collection Bougainvilea Bouquet; and Rose in Bubble Bowl Arrangement.

Clockwise from top left: John-Richard Collection Nearly White Faux Floral; Preserved Hydrangea Arrangement; John-Richard Collection Bougainvilea Bouquet; and Rose in Bubble Bowl Arrangement.

Which side of the vase do fall on: faux or real flowers? If you’re a real-flowers-all-the-way person, check out the awesome flower-arrangement guide in this month’s Real Simple (p. 77). If you go for faux, where do you get your arrangements? Share in the comments section!

What are your thoughts?

