Go-To Recipe: Sweet Southern Pound Cake

When it comes to birthdays and holidays, my dad is impossible to buy presents for. (Case in point: The only thing he’s told me he wants for the last several gift-giving occasions is socks.) So naturally, I was stumped about how to treat him for Father’s Day.

Until I ran across this pound cake recipe, that is. My dad has a major sweet tooth (thanks, dad!) and especially loves pound cake. Not to mention, I owed him one after my puppy Paul ate an entire cake while staying with him a few weeks ago.

This sweet, buttery pound cake was such a blast to make, and it turned out to be downright delicious. Needless to say, I had one happy papa on Father’s Day—and a new recipe in my arsenal, to boot!

picstitch-72

Southern Pound Cake via Celia Casey


Southern Pound Cake

3 sticks sweet, unsalted butter, at room temperature

3 1/2 cups sugar

5 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

3/4 cup whipping cream

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons almond extract

1. Butter and flour a 10-inch tube pan or bundt pan.

2. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

3. With an electric mixer, cream butter until light and fluffy for 10 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl frequently during entire mixing process. Add sugar, 1 cup at a time, and beat at medium speed for 10 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.

4. Add 1 cup of flour to mixture, then 1/4 of cream, beating until just mixed. Repeat with flour and cream until all is incorporated. Add flavorings, beating them in, but do not overmix.

5. Pour batter into prepared pan, and bake for 1 hour 20 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean.

6. Cool in pan 15 minutes, then remove from pan and cool completely on wire rack.

 

What are your thoughts?