Go-To Recipe: Buttermilk Pancakes

Breakfast is by far, hands-down, 100 percent my favorite meal of the day (isn’t it everyone’s?!). Honestly, if I could do it without gaining 500 pounds, I think I would eat breakfast foods for every meal of the day. And I’m not talking fruit and yogurt or the protein bars I typically have most weekday mornings. I’m talking about a hearty, eggs-and-bacon-and-pancakes (and grits!) kind of breakfast, all doused in a heaping helping of maple syrup.

Aside from baking, breakfast foods are one of the few things I actually excel at making. From French toast and scones to omelets and more, I can hardly think of any breakfast item or dish I don’t like to make (or at least experiment with making).

But without a doubt, there’s one breakfast recipe that’s my favorite: dark chocolate chip buttermilk pancakes. Before Harrison moved to Philly, this used to be a staple for us on the weekends, but now that I’m living all by my lonesome, I don’t get to make it nearly enough. I discovered it one day over on A Cup of Jo and was immediately glad I tried it out. It’s simple, doesn’t require many ingredients and is delicious when you add in a smattering of dark chocolate chips.

1996be04b25211e1b10e123138105d6b_7

Buttermilk Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons white granulated sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 1/4 cup buttermilk, shaken

1 large egg

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup dark chocolate chips (optional)

1. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

2. In a small bowl, measure out the buttermilk. Add the egg, melted butter and vanilla extract; beat until thoroughly combined.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined, being sure to not overmix. The batter should have small to medium lumps.

4. Heat up your griddle or skillet over medium heat and brush with 1/2 tablespoon of butter. Scoop the batter, using a 1/4 cup measure, onto the warm skillet. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes, until small bubbles form on the surface of the pancake, and then flip. Turn heat down to medium-low and cook on opposite side for about 1 minute, or until golden brown.

5. Transfer cooked pancakes to a baking sheet and place in oven to keep warm. Proceed with the rest of the batter until you’re done. Serve with warm maple syrup.

(via A Cozy Kitchen/A Cup of Jo)

What’s your favorite breakfast recipe to make (or eat)?

What are your thoughts?

