Friday Find: Tartan Treasures

You know how they say your taste buds change every seven years, making you like things you used to hate/hate things you used to love? Well, I’m 100 percent certain the same thing applies to your taste in fashion—just a lot more often.

For example, I used to despise velvet (probably due to the fact that I had to wear one too many velvet leotards for dance when I was younger). But over the last couple of months, I’ve come to really love it. Whether it’s a deep blue velvet armchair or a sleek black blazer, I want to make that fabric mine.

And now it’s happening with tartan. I’ve never been one to wear a lot of plaid (or any other pattern, really), but once I started seeing piece after piece of cute plaid clothing this fall, I warmed up to the idea of it. Then I saw the beautiful Ashley Madekwe wearing this fabulous head-to-toe Topshop tartan look, and I was sold.

Ashley Madekwe in Topshop

Since wearing all-over plaid might give me a heart attack, I’ve found a few pieces that have the perfect touch of tartan:

Are you playing with plaid this season?

What are your thoughts?

