Sleek in Stripes

The hardest part about Christmas shopping is resisting the urge to buy things for myself while checking everyone else off my list. And I did really well this year—for about two days. Even though I promised myself I would stay on budget this holiday season, I eyed this Express skirt during the Cyber Monday sales last week and couldn’t get it out of my head. And when I just happened to walk by and pop into the store the other day on my way to pick up Christmas decorations, I couldn’t deny myself any longer.

I’ve been wanting to try a midi pencil skirt like this for a while, but I always thought it would make me look short and stumpy (and for all I know, it does). Once I tried it on and saw how curve-hugging and figure-flattering it was, however, I knew it needed a home in my closet. And even though it probably wasn’t the warmest thing to wear today—we got several inches of snow yesterday, with more to come—I couldn’t wait to show it off.

fashion, style, clothes, shopping, trends, fashion trends, skirt, striped skirt, stripes, pencil skirt, striped pencil skirt, midi skirt, midi pencil skirt, black and white, black and white stripes, black and white striped skirt, accessories, jewelry, shoes, pumps, black pumps, heels, black heels, necklace, red lipstick, red lips, beauty, button down, blouse, black button down, black blouse, bracelet, gold bracelet

fashion, style, clothes, shopping, trends, fashion trends, skirt, striped skirt, stripes, pencil skirt, striped pencil skirt, midi skirt, midi pencil skirt, black and white, black and white stripes, black and white striped skirt, accessories, jewelry, shoes, pumps, black pumps, heels, black heels, necklace, red lipstick, red lips, beauty, button down, blouse, black button down, black blouse, bracelet, gold bracelet

fashion, style, clothes, shopping, trends, fashion trends, skirt, striped skirt, stripes, pencil skirt, striped pencil skirt, midi skirt, midi pencil skirt, black and white, black and white stripes, black and white striped skirt, accessories, jewelry, shoes, pumps, black pumps, heels, black heels, necklace, red lipstick, red lips, beauty, button down, blouse, black button down, black blouse, bracelet, gold bracelet

fashion, style, clothes, shopping, trends, fashion trends, skirt, striped skirt, stripes, pencil skirt, striped pencil skirt, midi skirt, midi pencil skirt, black and white, black and white stripes, black and white striped skirt, accessories, jewelry, shoes, pumps, black pumps, heels, black heels, necklace, red lipstick, red lips, beauty, button down, blouse, black button down, black blouse, bracelet, gold bracelet

Blouse / H&M (Similar) Skirt / Express (Similar) Tights / Gap (Similar) Heels / Xappeal Necklace / Unknown (Similar) Bracelet / Unknown (Similar) Earrings / Unknown (Similar) Ring / Vintage (Similar)

I had to attend an event in Northeast Philly today for a food story I’m working on, so I needed to keep the outfit simple and professional, which is why I opted for a basic satin button down and tights. But I can’t wait to see what fun combinations I can try with these super-sleek and sexy stripes.

What would you pair this skirt with?

2 thoughts on “Sleek in Stripes

What are your thoughts?

