Chocolate Banana Bread

No matter how hard I try, I will never be able to relate to those people who either a) don’t like bread, or b) consciously choose to abstain from it for one reason or another. From dinner rolls and croissants to fresh-baked baguettes and plain ol’ sliced bread, I find nearly any type of this addictive carb to be positively irresistible. So any time you combine bread with my other favorite food category, sweets, I get practically weak in the knees. Which is why it was love at first sight when I saw the recipe for this easy-to-make and delicious-to-eat Chocolate Banana Bread.

food, bread, sweets, recipe, baking, cooking, bread recipe, banana bread, banana bread recipe, chocolate banana bread, chocolate banana bread recipe, chocolate recipe, chocolate, banana, dessert, dessert recipe

food, bread, sweets, recipe, baking, cooking, bread recipe, banana bread, banana bread recipe, chocolate banana bread, chocolate banana bread recipe, chocolate recipe, chocolate, banana, dessert, dessert recipe

I’ve been wanting to break in my new loaf pan for a while now, so yesterday, I finally decided to hunt for a yummy recipe and get to baking. Luckily, I stumbled across this one pretty quickly and knew immediately that my search was over. I’m automatically drawn to any recipe that doesn’t require me to purchase many ingredients (I despise grocery shopping, though I love to cook and eat), and this one definitely fit the bill, as I only needed to run out and grab a few bananas and a bag of chocolate chips.

The batter took no time to make, and the loaf came out tasting deliciously rich and chocolatey, with just the perfect hint of banana. I didn’t try it, but I bet it would be delicious with a handful of your favorite chopped nuts—like walnuts or pecans—thrown in, too. I’ve already had a couple of pieces since I baked it, and I’m pretty sure this will be my breakfast and after-dinner (and maybe lunch) dessert for the next several days, complete with an ice-cold glass of milk!

Check out the recipe below, then tell me: What’s your favorite bread to bake or eat?

food, bread, sweets, recipe, baking, cooking, bread recipe, banana bread, banana bread recipe, chocolate banana bread, chocolate banana bread recipe, chocolate recipe, chocolate, banana, dessert, dessert recipe

food, bread, sweets, recipe, baking, cooking, bread recipe, banana bread, banana bread recipe, chocolate banana bread, chocolate banana bread recipe, chocolate recipe, chocolate, banana, dessert, dessert recipe

Chocolate Banana Bread

Yield: 1 loaf (via Money Saving Mom)

1 3/4 cups flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 stick butter, melted and cooled

3 ripe bananas, mashed well

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

3. Stir together eggs, butter, mashed bananas and vanilla extract.

4. Carefully fold banana mixture into flour mixture until just combined. Mix in chocolate chips. Pour into greased loaf pan.

5. Bake for 55 to 65 minutes, until bread has risen and a toothpick inserted in in the center comes out clean.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: SupiCooks // Chocolate Banana Bread | s u p i k u k u ♥

What are your thoughts?

