Ready for the Runway

It’s finally here! And no, I’m not talking about the 2014 Winter Olympics; I’m talking about New York Fashion Week. I wait months and months for the best week of the year (well, two of the best weeks, technically, since Fashion Week happens in both the spring and fall), and now that it’s here, I’m like a kid on Christmas morning.

Despite the fact that I’m on a mad dash to get a billion and one things done before we leave for Europe next Thursday, I know I’ll be glued to the live stream and Style.com over the next eight days to catch every possible glimpse of the Fall ’14 collections. There are a ton of new designers I’m excited to see on the runways this season (including Nonoo and Katie Ermilio), and even though I end up checking out all of the collections, there are a few shows I look forward to more than any others. Check out which designers I’m dying to see this (and every) year:

fashion, style, clothing, clothes, shopping, runway, runway fashion, runway style, designer fashion, designer style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall fashion, fall fashion week, fall style, fall 14, fall 14 collections, nyfw fall 14, new york fashion week fall 14, gowns, dresses, designer gowns, designer dresses, jenny packham, monique lhullier, naeem khan

From left to right: Jenny Packham, Monique Lhullier, Naeem Khan

I have no problem admitting that I’m a huge fan of any designer who shows off beautiful, girly, elegant gowns on the runway, so I can’t wait to get my hands on snaps of the collections by Jenny Packham, Monique Lhullier and Naeem Khan (among several others).

fashion, style, clothing, clothes, shopping, runway, runway fashion, runway style, designer fashion, designer style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall fashion, fall fashion week, fall style, fall 14, fall 14 collections, nyfw fall 14, new york fashion week fall 14, dresses, designer dresses, skirts, designer skirts, coats, designer coats, fall dress, fall coat, carolina herrera, oscar de la renta, victoria beckham

From left to right: Carolina Herrera, Oscar de la Renta, Victoria Beckham

Seeing as I’m in love with classic style, crisp pieces and perfect tailoring, it should come as no surprise that I cherish seeing the polished creations from designers like Carolina Herrera, Oscar de la Renta and Victoria Beckham.

fashion, style, clothing, clothes, shopping, runway, runway fashion, runway style, designer fashion, designer style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall fashion, fall fashion week, fall style, fall 14, fall 14 collections, nyfw fall 14, new york fashion week fall 14, dress, skirt, jumpsuit, sheer shirt, sheer blouse, designer dress, designer jumpsuit, designer skirt, noon by noor, j mendel, diane von furstenberg, dvf

From left to right: Noon by Noor, J. Mendel, Diane von Furstenberg

I may be a traditionalist, but I love a dose of fun, bright and sometimes daring fashion every now and then. I’ve become a huge fan of the Noon by Noor collections over the past several seasons, and I’ve long been in love with J. Mendel and DVF.

These are by no means the only shows I’m looking forward to this year (Michael Kors, Bibhu Mohapatra, and Lela Rose, among others, get my heart racing, too), but they’re definitely the ones for which I’ll drop anything to watch on the live stream or wait to see the photos of with bated breath.

Which designers are you excited to see this Fashion Week? Enjoy the shows, and be sure to follow my Fall ’14 board on Pinterest to keep up with all of my favorite looks from the runway!

What are your thoughts?

