Five Things I Need From New York Fashion Week

Where has the week gone?! It seems like just yesterday that I was waiting anxiously by my computer to watch the first live-streamed runway show of the year at New York Fashion Week, and now it’s already the last day of the Fall ’14 collections. For the most part, I was thrilled with a lot of the collections (Milly, Jenny Packham and Lyn Devon, in particular), and I’ve come away from the week as a fan of a few new designers, including Novis and Nonoo.

Even though there’s still a handful of collections left to be shown today (most notably Ralph Lauren, J. Mendel and Calvin Klein), I’ve already figured out several things I need to get ready to add to my closet (or at least dream about) come next fall. Here are the five things I’m craving for Fall ’14:

1. A brilliant black coat

fashion, style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall 14, fall 2014, fall 2014 new york fashion week, mercedes benz fashion week, designers, designer clothing, designer fashion, designer style, coat, fall coat, black coat, wool coat, pamella roland, reem acra, josie natori, victoria beckham, altuzarra, milly

Clockwise from top left: Pamella Roland, Reem Acra, Josie Natori, Victoria Beckham, Altuzarra and Milly.

As much black as I wear, it’s kind of insane to realize that I don’t have a great go-with-anything coat in the hue hanging in my closet. But seeing all of the amazing tailored pieces that walked down the runway in the Fall ’14 collections, I know it’s one piece I can’t go another winter without.

2. Something—anything—in this rich blue hue

fashion, style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall 14, fall 2014, fall 2014 new york fashion week, mercedes benz fashion week, designers, designer clothing, designer fashion, designer style, blue, rich blue, blue clothes, silk, blue silk, silk dress, blue dress, blue silk dress, blue pants, blue silk pants, noon by noor, rachel roy, lela rose

From left: Noon By Noor, Rachel Roy and Lela Rose

I fell in love with this silky, super rich, ultra-luxe shade of blue last month when I saw this skirt, and I think I almost squealed with excitement when I saw it popping up in a number of collections for next fall. The chances of me grabbing one of these exact pieces is admittedly small, but I’ll definitely be on the lookout even more now that I know designers have fallen in love with the color, too.

3. The entire Lela Rose collection

Lela Rose

Lela Rose

There are some NYFW collections you like, some you hate and some you’re absolutely obsessed with, which was the case for me with the Lela Rose lineup. From the delicate colors and detailed fabrics to the sophisticated silhouettes and refined lines, Lela Rose had my heart from the moment that first dress stepped out onto the runway. Anyone generous enough to buy me the entire line?

4. Fur, fur + more fur

fashion, style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall 14, fall 2014, fall 2014 new york fashion week, mercedes benz fashion week, designers, designer clothing, designer fashion, designer style, fur, faux fur, fur scarf, fur stole, fur coat, fur dress,

Clockwise from top left: Dennis Basso, Victoria Beckham, Bibhu Mohapatra, Carolina Herrera, ADEAM and Badgley Mischka

Thanks to my love for luxe, feminine detailing, I’ve always been a fan of rich fabrics like sequins, feathers, pony hair and more, and for the upcoming fall season, it looks like my focus will be switching to fur. From fur-lined shift dresses and fluffy fur stoles to full-on fur coats, I’m crazy about both the warmth and chic factor these pieces never fail to provide.

5. A Valentine’s Day-inspired outfit

fashion, style, fashion week, new york fashion week, nyfw, fall, fall clothes, fall style, nyfw style, designer clothes, designer style, designer fashion, red, pink, red sweater, red skirt, pink sweater, pink dress, pink lace dress, marissa webb, jenny packham, dkny

From left: Marissa Webb, Jenny Packham and DKNY

I’ve never been one to wear a lot of pink or red, but after seeing the shades pop up again and again (often together) on the runway, I’m itching to bring a taste of Valentine’s Day into my fall wardrobe.

Now that you know what I’m obsessing over, tell me: Which collections and pieces stole your heart at NYFW?

What are your thoughts?

