Friday Four

We’ve only been home from Europe for two days, and it already feels like our fabulous vacation was a million years ago. It’s crazy how quickly you can fall back into your everyday routine, even after spending two weeks completely removed from it. Fortunately, I’ve had a lot of work to do (and TV to catch up on!) since returning home, so that’s definitely helped to ease the transition and give me little time to think about just how exhausted I am.

Before I head into the weekend to catch up on some sleep, watch the Oscars and finally see my sweet puppy Paul again, I wanted to share a Friday Four full of all the things I want to eat, wear, live with and visit, inspired by our recent stops in Amsterdam and Berlin.

food, german food, bratwurst, potatoes, boiled potatoes, sauerkraut, german cuisine, fashion, style, clothing, clothes, shopping, amsterdam fashion, amsterdam, scotch & soda, dress, printed dress, tie wast dress, design, decor, home decor, home design, interior design, interior decorating, decorating, wallpaper, printed wallpaper, delft blue, delft blue wallpaper, travel, museum, germany, berlin, bode museum

Clockwise from top left: German food; tie-waist dress; Delft Blue wallpaper; and the Bode Museum.

Eat: German cuisine

Surprise! In Berlin, I found out (despite my insistence that I hated it) that I totally love sauerkraut. And bratwurst. And a ton of other German foods! And though most of the cuisine is a little too heavy for me to eat on a daily basis, I do miss the bold flavor and heartiness of German food, and I definitely won’t turn my nose up at it in the future.

Wear: Tie-waist patterned dress from Scotch & Soda

We were lucky enough to stay in a fantastic location in Amsterdam right along the canal on Prinsengracht, and one the best parts about it (aside from the unbelievably gorgeous hotel we stayed in) was the fact that it was smack-dab in the middle of The Nine Streets, Amsterdam’s main shopping district. We explored a ton of cute shops and boutiques, and I quickly fell in love with the casual-chic fashion that the people of Amsterdam pull off with ease. I also saw a lot more of Amsterdam-based brand Scotch & Soda, and this dress in particular caught my eye. Wouldn’t it be perfect for the first days of spring?

Live With: Delft Blue anything

I have to admit: Though Dublin will always have a special place in my heart and I absolutely adore London, Amsterdam was definitely my favorite stop on our vacation. It’s such a gorgeous and easily walkable city, and the fashion, architecture and design are nearly incomparable. One thing I quickly became obsessed with was the Delft Blue pattern, a gorgeous blue and white design used on everything from pottery to wallpaper. Our hotel had a ton of Delft Blue designs throughout the entire building, but my favorite was the wallpaper that hung in the lobby and our water closet. I use a lot of blue in decorating for our apartment, so I have a sneaking suspicion that we’ll have a few hints of Delft Blue around the house before long.

Visit: The Bode Museum, Berlin

Aside from a canal tour in Amsterdam, Harrison and I didn’t do a whole lot of your typical tourist activities while visiting Europe. But if I ever go back to Berlin, there’s one museum I’d definitely love to stop in and see: The Bode Museum. It’s an architectural vision in and of itself, and I’m dying to check out the Byzantine and Gothic art and sculpture collections that are housed within.

What are you wanting to eat, wear, live with and visit this week?

What are your thoughts?

