Friday Four

How this week has flown by so quickly, I’ll never know. Maybe it’s because I’ve been so excited to have our friends in town that I’ve literally willed time to move faster, or perhaps it’s some grand conspiracy to make certain I never get everything on my to-do list done. Whatever the reason, Friday is here, and I can’t wait to spend the weekend eating, drinking and enjoying the company our visitors!

But before I dive headfirst into what’s sure to be a fantastic few days, I want to share everything I’m dying to visit, live with, wear and eat this week. Enjoy!

food, dinner, dinner recipe, salad, salad recipe, healthy recipe, healthy salad recipe, apples, pomegranate, apple and pomegranate salad, kale, kale salad, quinoa, quinoa salad, nc, north carolina, unc, university of north carolina, chapel hill, unc chapel hill, college, college campus, college basketball, unc campus, chapel hill campus, decor, home, home decor, travel, decorating, design, interior design, wall decor, elephant decor, papier mache, papier mache wall decor, papier mache elephant, west elm, sunglasses, wayfarer sunglasses, style, fashion, shopping, transparent sunglasses, rayban, rayban sunglasses, spring style, spring fashion

Clockwise from top left: UNC campus; papier-mâché sculpture; wayfarer sunglasses; and apple + pomegranate salad.

Visit: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

In case you didn’t know, I graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill, and the school, the campus and the town itself are very near and dear to my heart. Though I’m always feeling a little homesick for my college town, I’m especially wishing I could be there tomorrow night when the Tar Heels take on our rivals, the Duke Blue Devils, for a major matchup. Granted, the game is at Duke this time around, but there’s just such an infectious energy in Chapel Hill on a Duke game day, and it’s something that I’ve really been missing lately. Instead, I guess I’ll just be going to Carolina in my mind (cue the James Taylor).

Live With: Papier-Mâché Elephant Head Wall Sculpture by West Elm

I’ve been looking for an interesting item to fill a blank spot on one of our living room walls, and I’m leaning more and more toward one of these animal sculptures I keep seeing everywhere. Though the deer sculptures are more common, I’m absolutely in love with this adorable elephant version, which would complement our blue-and-gold color scheme perfectly.

Wear: Transparent Wayfarers by Ray-Ban

I can’t even begin to count the many reasons I’m ready for spring’s arrival, but I do know one of them in particular: the chance to wear these super-cool sunglasses. I’m in desperate need of some new sunnies, and this see-through pair are not only fun and playful, but they’ve got a major chic factor.

Eat: Apple, Pomegranate, Quinoa + Kale Salad via Closet Cooking

I should be embarrassed to admit this, but I’ve failed miserably at my goal of eating better (and just less, in general) after my trip to Europe. And seeing as we have our friends in town this weekend, I don’t think things will get any better on the food front any time soon. But as soon as I do start eating more healthfully (Monday, I promise!), this is a salad I’ll definitely devour.

What are you loving this week?

What are your thoughts?

