Maple Bacon Pancakes

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this once or twice (or 100 times, probably), but I really love pancakes. Whether homemade or from a restaurant, I could eat pancakes for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, and any other time in between. And I’m not lying (but am probably showing how unhealthy I am) when I say chocolate chip pancakes are my favorite food! But something crazy happened last weekend: I found a dish I may love more than my go-to Dark Chocolate Buttermilk Pancakes. And that’s a little something called Maple Bacon Pancakes.

food, cooking, recipe, breakfast, breakfast recipe, dessert, dessert recipe, sweets, brunch, brunch recipe, pancakes, pancakes recipe, maple syrup, bacon, maple bacon pancakes, maple bacon pancakes recipe, bacon recipes

I’m not sure why I hadn’t thought of making this delicious recipe before. After all, I’m crazy about anything that combines sweet and salty tastes, and I already eat my bacon dipped in maple syrup when I have pancakes (proving yet again how terrible my eating habits are). But as I was searching for something to make for Sunday brunch and came across this recipe, it was like a lightbulb went off and I knew I had to make it immediately.

food, cooking, recipe, breakfast, breakfast recipe, dessert, dessert recipe, sweets, brunch, brunch recipe, pancakes, pancakes recipe, maple syrup, bacon, maple bacon pancakes, maple bacon pancakes recipe, bacon recipes

And man, I am so glad I did. These pancakes turned out to be even better than I could have imagined, and Harrison wasn’t shy about declaring that it was the best thing I’ve ever made for brunch. And now that I think about it, he may be right. The pancakes themselves are light and fluffy, while the crisp bacon adds the perfect amount of savory saltiness to balance out the super-sweet maple syrup. Making these every weekend might not be the smartest thing to do (my waistline would hate me), but you can bet I’ll be making them again soon, especially when I really need to impress a few guests.

food, cooking, recipe, breakfast, breakfast recipe, dessert, dessert recipe, sweets, brunch, brunch recipe, pancakes, pancakes recipe, maple syrup, bacon, maple bacon pancakes, maple bacon pancakes recipe, bacon recipes

Just a small warning: These are super indulgent, so if you’re whipping them up, don’t plan to add anything else—other than maybe a mimosa (or two) and a little fruit—to the meal, because trust me, you won’t be able to finish it all.

Check out the recipe below, and enjoy!

food, cooking, recipe, breakfast, breakfast recipe, dessert, dessert recipe, sweets, brunch, brunch recipe, pancakes, pancakes recipe, maple syrup, bacon, maple bacon pancakes, maple bacon pancakes recipe, bacon recipes

Maple Bacon Pancakes

Yield: 4 servings (via A Cozy Kitchen)

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons sugar

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups buttermilk

6 slices bacon, cooked and diced

Butter

Maple syrup

1. Preheat oven to 150 F.

2. In medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar. Add eggs and buttermilk in two batches, then mix, being sure not to overmix. Let batter sit 10 minutes to thicken.

3. Once batter is done resting, gently fold in bacon.

4. Brush griddle or skillet with butter, then drop 1/4 cup batter onto pan. Cook over low-medium heat until bubbles form along edges, then flip and cook until browned. Place finished pancakes on pan in oven to remain warm.

5. Once all pancakes have been cooked, serve with butter and maple syrup.

What are your thoughts?

