Friday Four

Happy Friday, and happy Mother’s Day weekend! Sadly, I won’t be able to spend the holiday with my fantastic mother this year, but I sure hope you’re able to celebrate the day with yours! We may be making a day trip up north tomorrow (still waiting for confirmation), but if that falls through, I’m planning a weekend full of wardrobe purging (it’s finally time for spring cleaning!), reading and spending some always-welcome QT with my two boys (yes, my dog is one of those).

But before we jump into this holiday weekend, I wanted to catch you up on everything I’m loving this week. Check it out:

food, baking, cooking, sweets, desserts, dessert recipes, cupcakes, cupcake recipe, strawberry cupcakes, strawberry cupcakes recipe, strawberry lemonade cupcakes, strawberry lemonade cupcakes recipe, home, home decor, decor, decorating, design, art, watercolor sketch, met gala, met gala sketch, fashion sketch, met gala, charles james, charles james exhibit, art, museum of modern art, new york city, fashion, style, shopping, clothes, spring style, spring, spring accessories, accessories, scarf, pom pom scarf, kate spade, kate spade new york

Clockwise from top left: Strawberry lemon cupcakes; fashion sketch; Charles James exhibit; and pom pom scarf.

Eat: Strawberry Lemon Cupcakes (via InStyle)

I love strawberries, I love strawberry lemonade and I certainly love cupcakes, so I can’t imagine why these Strawberry Lemon Cupcakes wouldn’t be some of the most delicious I’ve ever tasted! I’d love to whip these up for Mother’s Day, my next spring soiree or just for no reason at all, wouldn’t you?

Live With: Met Gala gown sketch (via Katie Rodgers for Refinery29)

I’m obsessed with the annual Met Gala (you could probably already tell from Tuesday’s best-of post), so when I saw these sketches from the illustrator behind Paper Fashion, I was dying to get my hands on one of them (Emmy Rossum’s Carolina Herrera gown, in particular). Unfortunately, I don’t think they’re available for purchase yet (if ever), but a girl can dream about hanging one on her wall, right?

Visit: “Charles James: Beyond Fashion” exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

It’s not just the Met Gala red carpet I go crazy for; the exhibits themselves tend to be pretty amazing, too. And because it’s hard for me to resist Old Hollywood glamour and high-fashion ball gowns, I’m thinking this Charles James exhibit is one to go the extra mile to see.

Wear: Pom pom scarf (via Kate Spade’s On Purpose collection)

Have you heard about Kate Spade’s new On Purpose collection? The brand is teaming up with a group of 150 women in Masoro, Rwanda to teach them how to hand-make beautiful goods (like this gorgeous, two-tone pom pom scarf) in order to provide them with economic stability that can transform not only their lives, but also their entire community. Now, that’s fashion you can feel good about.

What are you dying to eat, live with, visit and wear this week?

What are your thoughts?

