Art Smarts: Blue + Pink Pieces

Now that we’re finally getting things sorted out at our new apartment, I’m discovering a lot of cool features that I completely looked past when we first viewed the place and moved in. One of those is the long hallway you step into as soon as you open the door to our apartment, and I’m really looking forward to filling the walls with some great art.

But that means I need to pick up a few more pieces to add to my slowly growing collection, of course, and I’ve already got my eye on a few pieces that I want (or can at least dream of someday owning).

art, home, home decor, decor, decorating, interior design, design, interior decorating, wall decor, photographs, paintings, blue paintings, watercolor paintings, portraits, abstract art, watercolor art

Clockwise from top left: World Map by Jessica Durrant; Cliff by Leila Jeffreys; Dusk 3 by Jenny Prinn; marbled paper; Business Reply Mail by Janet Bothne.

Much of the decor in our apartment is navy blue–based, so it definitely makes the most sense to pick pieces that play into that color scheme. I’m a huge fan of watercolor paintings, so that dripping world map and the color-packed pieces from Jenny Prinn and Janet Bothne are immediately drawing my eye. However, there’s something so intriguing and visually appealing about that blue bird portrait, and it’s quickly becoming one of my top picks.

art, home, home decor, decor, decorating, interior design, design, interior decorating, wall decor, photographs, paintings, pink paintings, watercolor paintings, portraits, abstract art, watercolor art

Clockwise from top left: Glimpse by Carol Benson-Cobb; Pink Sea Print by Burke Decor; Magenta Bun by Sarah Boyts Yoder; Washi Pattern by Paper Fashion; Luglio by Oliver Gal.

Even though it doesn’t particularly match anything in my current decor scheme, I’m feeling really drawn to pink pieces lately (just blame it on the quickly approaching summer months) and that even applies to art. I love the watercolor print on the Glimpse piece (it probably doesn’t hurt that it matches the print on my favorite peplum top), and the mix of pink and gold on the Luglio painting is to die for. I love the sketch-y feel of the Magenta Bun and Washi Pattern prints, but I’m also drawn to the serene shot of the pink-tinted sea portrait.

With so many pieces to choose from, I definitely need a little help: Which of these pink and blue pieces would you pick to spice up your art collection?

2 thoughts on “Art Smarts: Blue + Pink Pieces

What are your thoughts?

