Luxe Looks for the Home: Animal-Print Pieces

With everything that’s been going on lately (the move, work ramping up, trying to spend as much time as possible exploring our new city), I’ve had little time or energy to catch up on the little things in life, like cleaning, for example, or reading the fat stack of magazines that’s been piling up on my desk since early last month.

But during lunch yesterday, I decided to take a few minutes to flip through one of my favorite mags, House Beautiful, and see what the May issue (told you I was behind!) had in store for me. And I didn’t even have to go farther than the cover to see a style that really spoke to me: animal print decor.

home, home decor, decor, decorating, decoration, home decorating, design, interior design, house beautiful

House Beautiful May cover

I’ve always been a fan of animal print pieces, but have always limited them to my wardrobe with a leopard-print shirt here and a zebra-print dress there. But seeing how luxe and chic it looked paired against lush fabrics and rich hues, I fell in love instantly and immediately set off searching for printed pieces to call my own. Here are just 12 that have caught my eye:

home, decor, home decor, decorating, home decorating, design, interior design, interior decorating, animal print, animal print home decor, snakeskin, snakeskin print, snakeskin print home decor, leopard print, leopard print home decor, giraffe print, giraffe print home decor, zebra print, zebra print home decor, ralph lauren,

1. Leopard-print Sixteen chair by Sweetpea & Willow 2. Giraffe-print pillow by Jennifer Paganelli 3. Giraffe-print chair by Pier 1 Imports 4. Zebra-print headboard on Etsy 5. Tiger-print lamp by Scalamandre Maison 6. Zebra-print pillow by Ralph Lauren Home 7. Snakeskin-print rug by Nanette Lepore 8. Zebra-print club chair by Z Gallerie 9. Zebra-print lamp by Kathy Kuo Home 10. Mix-print coffee table on 1stdibs 11. Snakeskin-print soup bowl by Mikasa 12. Zebra-print bone box by Bliss Home & Design

Leopard and snakeskin are definitely my favorite animal prints, and I love how they’re used on that classic Sixteen chair and emerald-trimmed rug. But I also love the safari-chic feel you get with the zebra-print pieces (that Ralph Lauren pillow and Z Gallerie chair, in particular, are favorites), while the giraffe-print pillow just feels playful and pretty.

What do you think: Would you work animal prints into your decor mix?

What are your thoughts?

